Leave a comment

Happy Birthday Sir Arthur Conan Doyle!

In honor of his Birthday, here are a few of my favorite quotes and a poem by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

“The love of books is among the choicest gifts of the gods.”

“Of all ghosts the ghosts of our old loves are the worst.”

“There is no scent so pleasant to my nostrils as that faint, subtle reek which comes from an ancient book.”

“You are my heart, my life, my one and only thought.”

“We can’t command our love, but we can our actions.”

A Parable

The cheese-mites asked how the cheese got there,
And warmly debated the matter;
The Orthodox said that it came from the air,
And the Heretics said from the platter.
They argued it long and they argued it strong,
And I hear they are arguing now;
But of all the choice spirits that lived in the cheese,
Not one of them thought of the cow.

Sir Arthur,
If you can hear me somehow, thank you for your brilliant writing and your characters who live on here on earth, ever returning every time someone picks up one of your stories for the first time. The true meaning of living forever.

 

Leave a comment